This educational website about cetaceans is offered by the American Cetacean Society (ACS), a California-based, nonprofit organization that "protects whales, dolphins, porpoises, and their habitats through public education, research grants, and conservation actions." The ACS Education site features a Cetacean Curriculum section with downloadable classroom activities and background information about cetaceans (free, confidential registration required). The Curriculum section also includes helpful Internet links, recommended reference books, and National Science Education Standards Correlations for grades K-12. In addition, the ACS Education site contains fact sheets that describe many types of cetaceans including the Beluga Whale, Narwhal, Orca, Bottlenose Dolphin, Fin Whale, Sperm Whale, and more. Through the Quick Links section, site visitors can connect to a well-organized bibliography, charts that compare size and maximum dive depths for different whales, and basic diagrams depicting anatomical features of whales. ACS is currently developing Interactive and Library sections for the website as well.


  • Science > General

Education Levels:

  • Grade 1
  • Grade 2
  • Grade 3
  • Grade 4
  • Grade 5
  • Grade 6
  • Grade 7
  • Grade 8
  • Grade 9
  • Grade 10
  • Grade 11
  • Grade 12


Science -- Biological and life sciences,NSDL_SetSpec_ncs-NSDL-COLLECTION-000-003-112-021,Higher Education,NSDL,Undergraduate (Upper Division),Science,oai:nsdl.org:2200/20110201181538039T,High School,Vocational/Professional Development Education,Life Science,Informal Education,General Public



Access Privileges:

Public - Available to anyone

License Deed:

Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike


This resource has not yet been aligned.
Curriki Rating
'NR' - This resource has not been rated
'NR' - This resource has not been rated

This resource has not yet been reviewed.

Not Rated Yet.

Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467