Formed in 1996, the Arctic Council represents a unique forum for cooperation between eight national governments and the indigenous peoples of the region. The member states of the Council include Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden, and the United States, along with six representatives that speak on behalf of various indigenous groups. Most of the Council's activities are centered around a primary mandate, which is to serve as a regional forum for sustainable development. The What's New area is a good way to find out about the most recent activities, as it contains recent official statements from senior-level officials in the Council, along with announcements about upcoming events. The activities section is equally worth a look and serves the function of an online archive of current project information for such activities as the Arctic Monitoring Assessment Program and the Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna Initiative.


  • Science > General
  • Science > Ecology

Education Levels:


    oai:nsdl.org:2200/20120928110609121T,NSDL_SetSpec_internetscout,Science,Ecology, Forestry and Agriculture,Science -- Ecology,Geoscience,NSDL



    Access Privileges:

    Public - Available to anyone

    License Deed:

    Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike


    This resource has not yet been aligned.
    Curriki Rating
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated

    This resource has not yet been reviewed.

    Not Rated Yet.

    Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467