Those persons who love the work of 19th century poets will find much to capture their attention on this simple, yet thorough, website. Curated by Charlotte Payne at the University of California, Davis, this digital collection presents hundreds of works by British women writing from 1789 to 1832. The original goal of the project was to present an online scholarly archive of British and Irish women who wrote between the onset of the French Revolution until the passage of the Reform Act, which is known in English literary history as the Romantic period. There are several hundred texts available here, and visitors can scan through them alphabetically by author's last name. First-time visitors might do well to start with Mary Kay's "The Widow's Offering" which includes lovely poems such as "The Morning Star" and the tragic "A Dying Son's Farewell." Visitors can also learn about the project's participants, use the search engine, and look over a list of related web resources.


  • Language Arts > General

Education Levels:


    NSDL_SetSpec_internetscout,oai:nsdl.org:2200/20120928105220812T,Language Arts,Social Sciences,Language Arts -- History,NSDL



    Access Privileges:

    Public - Available to anyone

    License Deed:

    Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike


    This resource has not yet been aligned.
    Curriki Rating
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated

    This resource has not yet been reviewed.

    Not Rated Yet.

    Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467