The DesignUSA exhibition from the Smithsonian's Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum celebrates ten years of the Museum's National Design Awards program. The National Design Awards program was founded in order to "celebrate contemporary American design and to increase national awareness of design through education and promotion of excellence and innovation." The exhibition is organized according to five themes: Craft, Experience, Technology, Materials, and Method, and award winners are arranged into these areas. For example, Nike is recognized in the Craft section - excellence at making things - for its 2006 corporate achievement award. Apple, and its industrial-design team leader, Jonathan Ive, is also recognized in the Craft section for their 2007 award for the iPod. Clicking on a past winner in any category will take visitors to a photo of the designer's work along with a brief description. The web exhibition itself was designed by a 2006 Communication Design Award winner, 24.


  • Arts > General
  • Arts > Technology
  • Arts > Visual Arts
  • Education > General

Education Levels:


    Arts,NSDL_SetSpec_internetscout,oai:nsdl.org:2200/20120928105133772T,Vocational Education,Arts -- Technology,Vocational Education -- Informal education,Arts -- Visual arts,Vocational Education -- Trade and industrial,Education,Technology,Social Sciences,NSDL



    Access Privileges:

    Public - Available to anyone

    License Deed:

    Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike


    This resource has not yet been aligned.
    Curriki Rating
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated

    This resource has not yet been reviewed.

    Not Rated Yet.

    Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467