Felix Mendelssohn was a musical jack-of-all trades and he was renowned in his lifetime as an exquisite pianist, conductor, and of course, composer. To mark the bicentennial of his birth in 1809, the Library of Congress's Music Division has created this collection of primary source material related to Mendelssohn's life and accomplishments. A good place to start here is the section containing articles on Mendelssohn's work as a composer. Here visitors can read pieces which explore his sacred works and his celebrated octet in E-flat major. The site also includes eight holograph manuscripts, including a score for the work Der Blumenstrauss and his setting of the 95th Psalm. The site also contains three biographical sketches on Mendelssohn, his older sister, Fanny, and his wife, Cecile Mendelssohn-Bartholdy.


  • Arts > General
  • Arts > Music
  • Social Studies > General
  • Social Studies > World History

Education Levels:


    Arts,NSDL_SetSpec_internetscout,Social studies -- World history,Arts -- Music,oai:nsdl.org:2200/20120928104638970T,Social studies,Social Sciences,NSDL



    Access Privileges:

    Public - Available to anyone

    License Deed:

    Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike


    This resource has not yet been aligned.
    Curriki Rating
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated

    This resource has not yet been reviewed.

    Not Rated Yet.

    Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467