This lesson plan is part of the DiscoverySchool.com lesson plan library for grades 6-8. It focuses on the seasonal changes that affect life in a temperate forest ecosystem and how organisms in a temperate forest are dependent on one another for proper nutrition. Students describe the three major types of organisms that live in an ecosystem, three types of consumers, food webs, and food chains. They then create a food web diagram for display in their classrooms. Included are objectives, materials, procedures, discussion questions, evaluation ideas, suggested readings, and vocabulary. There are videos available to order which complement this lesson, and links to teaching tools for making custom quizzes, worksheets, puzzles and lesson plans.


    Education Levels:

    • Grade 1
    • Grade 2
    • Grade 3
    • Grade 4
    • Grade 5
    • Grade 6
    • Grade 7
    • Grade 8
    • Grade 9
    • Grade 10


    temperate,dormancy,Ecology,Middle School,NSDL,habitat,producers, consumers, decomposers,Space Science,coniferous trees,Ecology, Forestry and Agriculture,NSDL_SetSpec_dlese.org,Forestry,hibernation,deciduous tress,Life Science,herbivores, carnivores, omnivores,Astronomy,Geoscience,oai:nsdl.org:2200/20061003230623533T,Space sciences



    Access Privileges:

    Public - Available to anyone

    License Deed:

    Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike


    This resource has not yet been aligned.
    Curriki Rating
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated

    This resource has not yet been reviewed.

    Not Rated Yet.

    Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467