This Curriculum Area Project is a result of New York State’s adoption of their Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in English Language Arts. This CAP provides an overview of the CCSS and explains key components of the initiative. Standards are provided in easy to reference tables for implementation. According to New York State, “The CCSS establish a staircase of increasing complexity in what students must be able to read so that all students are ready for the demands of college and career level reading no later than the end of High School. The standards require the progressive development of reading comprehension so that students advancing through the grades are able to gain more from whatever they read.” (Achieve)


  • Language Arts > General
  • Language Arts > Alphabet
  • Language Arts > Careers
  • Language Arts > Journalism
  • Language Arts > Listening & Speaking
  • Language Arts > Literature
  • Language Arts > Phonics
  • Language Arts > Reading Comprehension
  • Language Arts > Research
  • Language Arts > Spelling
  • Language Arts > Story Telling
  • Language Arts > Vocabulary
  • Language Arts > Writing

Education Levels:

  • Grade 1
  • Grade 2
  • Grade 3
  • Grade 4
  • Grade 5
  • K


Language Arts



Access Privileges:


License Deed:

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0


This resource has not yet been aligned.
Curriki Rating
'NR' - This resource has not been rated
'NR' - This resource has not been rated

This resource has not yet been reviewed.

Not Rated Yet.

Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467