Based at the University of Iowa, the Stradivari String Quartet is well regarded in classical music circles for their fine playing and their dedication to breathing new life into standards of the repertoire. Recently, the University of Iowa Libraries decided to digitize a number of their historical recordings for inclusion in the Iowa Digital Library project. First-time visitors may wish to start by listening to the concert from January 10, 1965, which features works by Joseph Hayden, Walter Piston, and Johannes Brahms. All told, there are 92 different musical offerings here, and visitors can search the collection by date, composer, or composition title. It's a nice set of musical offerings, and one that will be of great interest to musicologists and classical music enthusiasts.


  • Arts > General
  • Arts > Music

Education Levels:


    Arts,NSDL,Arts -- Music,oai:nsdl.org:2200/20120928114017284T,Social Sciences,NSDL_SetSpec_internetscout



    Access Privileges:

    Public - Available to anyone

    License Deed:

    Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike


    This resource has not yet been aligned.
    Curriki Rating
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated
    'NR' - This resource has not been rated

    This resource has not yet been reviewed.

    Not Rated Yet.

    Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467