You might think of yourself as only a physical body, but if you reflect on your daily experience, you will notice that at different points in the day, your awareness is in the physical body, or what you are thinking about, or what you are feeling. An ancient Vedic text, the Tattiriya Upanishad, gives us the teaching that these shifts of experience are different bodies, called ‘koshas’ in Sanskrit. There is a yoga practice for each level of our being, and for the physical body, we practice yoga asanas, pranayama, and follow certain guidelines pertaining to diet, and sleep. According to Ayurveda, the medical branch of yoga, the physical body is made up of 5 gross elements (earth, water, fire, air, and space) and 7 tissue layers (blood, plasma, muscle, bone, marrow, fat, and sexual essence). Your physical body is your vehicle for Self-realization; and so it should be properly maintained. A healthy body is the best host for a clear mind!


  • Health > General

Education Levels:

  • Other




Access Privileges:

Public - Available to anyone

License Deed:

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0


This resource has not yet been aligned.
Curriki Rating
'NR' - This resource has not been rated
'NR' - This resource has not been rated

This resource has not yet been reviewed.

Not Rated Yet.

Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467