This is a brief overview of the Theory of Plate Tectonics. According to the theory, the Earth's surface layer, or lithosphere, consists of seven large and 18 smaller plates that move and interact in various ways. Along their boundaries, they converge, diverge, and slip past one another, creating the Earth's seismic and volcanic activities. These plates lie atop a layer of partly molten rock called the asthenosphere. The plates can carry both continents and oceans, or exclusively one or the other. The site also explains interaction at the plate boundaries, which causes earthquakes, volcanoes and other forms of mountain building.


  • Science > General
  • Science > Earth Science
  • Science > Geology
  • Science > Physical Sciences

Education Levels:

  • Grade 1
  • Grade 2
  • Grade 3
  • Grade 4
  • Grade 5
  • Grade 6
  • Grade 7
  • Grade 8
  • Grade 9
  • Grade 10
  • Grade 11
  • Grade 12


Informal Education,NSDL_SetSpec_ncs-NSDL-COLLECTION-000-003-112-021,Vocational/Professional Development Education,NSDL,Science -- Geology,Early Elementary,Technical Education (Lower Division),Science,Undergraduate (Lower Division),High School,General Public,Science -- Physical sciences,Higher Education,Elementary School,oai:nsdl.org:2200/20110201173609448T,Science -- Earth science,Physics,Geoscience



Access Privileges:

Public - Available to anyone

License Deed:

Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike


This resource has not yet been aligned.
Curriki Rating
'NR' - This resource has not been rated
'NR' - This resource has not been rated

This resource has not yet been reviewed.

Not Rated Yet.

Non-profit Tax ID # 203478467